Frequently Asked Questions

If your question is not below, please feel free to contact the District Court’s office at 620.257.2383 or submit your question here.

District Court

How do I file a small claims petition?
Information and petitions for small claims filings may be found in the Rice County District Court Clerk's office. Docket fees for claims under $500.00 are $47.50; Claims from $500.01-$4,000.00 are $67.50. It is your responsibility to furnish the addresses of individuals being summoned to court.
If you have a complex case, or one that involves a claim over $4,000.00, you may wish to consult an attorney regarding other forms of legal action.
How can I inquire about my child support?
Pursuant to federal law, the State of Kansas has implemented a central payment system for processing of court ordered child support and maintenance. Child support and maintenance payments should be made payable to "KANSAS PAYMENT CENTER" and mailed to the following address:
KANSAS PAYMENT CENTER
P.O. BOX 758599
Topeka, Kansas 66675-8599
Please put your case number on your remittance with the county two-letter digit (RC) for Rice County to ensure proper credit. If you have questions or would like information regarding payments through electronic funds transfer (EFT), please contact KPC Customer Service, 1-877-572-5722, or visit their website http://www.kspaycenter.com/

Please notify the court in writing of any address change or name change.
How do I obtain a marriage license?
To obtain a Kansas Marriage license for individuals who are 18 years of age or older, either party (bride or groom) must appear in the District Court Clerk's office to apply. On the application you will need to know the following information for both parties: 
1. Full name (first, middle, and last)
2. Date of Birth
3. Either a Social Security number or Driver's License number
Applying for a marriage license begins a three-day waiting period. At the end of the three days, or anytime thereafter up to one year, you may return to pick up your license. At the time you pick up your license there is an $85.50 fee. The license is issued, and you may have your ceremony performed anywhere within the state of Kansas, for a period of six months.
How do I obtain a copy of my marriage license?
You may request copies by mail. You must inform the court of the bride's maiden name and the groom's name, enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope along with enough money to cover the number of copies requested. Mail requests, plus $1.00 for each request to the Rice County District Court, 101 W. Commercial, Lyons, KS 67554.
How do I obtain a protection from abuse order?
1. Before you can obtain a Protection from Abuse Order, you must be "an intimate partner or household member" of the alleged abuser; you and the other person you want restrained must be living together, have lived together in the past, or have had a child in common. 
If you are seeking protection of a minor child(ren), the child(ren) and the person you want restrained must be living together, have lived together in the past, or have had a child in common. Abuse must have occurred. This means that one of the following has occurred:
a. You are in a dating relationship (a social relationship of a romantic nature);
b. You have been in a dating relationship in the past;
c. You are living together;
d. You have lived together in the past; or
e. You have had a child in common

OR, if you are seeking protection of minor child(ren), the child(ren) and the person you want restrained must be intimate partners or household members. This means the child(ren) and the person you want restrained must meet one of the above requirements.

2. Abuse must have occurred. This means that one of the following has occurred:
a. The person physically hurt you or minor child(ren) on purpose. The person tried to physically hurt you or minor child(ren).
b. The person recently threatened to physically hurt you or minor child(ren).
c. The person engaged in sexual conduct (touching or sexual intercourse) with minor child(ren) 16 years of age.

You may file only two petitions for a Protection from Abuse Order in one calendar year, unless you are filing the petition on behalf of a minor child who has been abused. You must be available to testify at future hearings as set by the judge or in any other criminal action against the abuser. If you fail to appear the case may be dismissed. Other legal help may be available through your private attorney or legal services.
What juvenile offender files are open?
Generally, for cases after July 1, 1997, "official file" documents within juvenile court files are open unless ordered closed by a judge. However, certain juvenile court file reports and documents contain social history and other sensitive information. These "social file" documents are filed separately and are confidential.
Can I ask for a court file and browse through it while I'm in the court office?
If the information in the file is open, you will be allowed to request the file and look at it, but you will not be allowed to removed the file from the office.
Once I've reviewed the file and determined which pages I would like to have copied, what do I do?
You may request copies of certain pages, and you will be charged the local copy charge per page.
Can I call or e-mail in a records request to the court?
In most instances, the court will respond to your call or e-mail by asking you for an address or fax number where the request form can be sent to you. When you fill out the request form, the court is able to get the complete and specific information needed to respond to your request.
If I go to the court in person, can the court immediately provide me with the record I am requesting?
In most instances, the court will ask you to fill out a record request form. Depending upon staffing and the press of other business in the office, as well as accessibility of the record you have requested, the court may or may not be able to respond immediately. If your request cannot be processed immediately, the person responding to your request will make arrangements to notify you when the request is processed.

For further information about the Kansas Open Records Act and the Kansas Courts, visit our website at: www.kscourts.org

The records custodian(s) at this court location is District Court's address: 101 W. Commercial, Lyons, KS 67554