Voter Registration Form
In addition, it is important to file a personal property rendition with the County Appraiser’s office for all business-related property. Sales tax questions should be directed to the Kansas Department of Revenue, 785-337-6140
Information and petitions for small claims filings may be found in the Rice County District Court Clerk’s office. Docket fees for claims under $500 are $47.50; claims from $500.01 - $4000 are $67.50. It is your responsibility to furnish the addresses of individuals being summoned to court.
If you have a complex case, or one that involves a claim over $4000, you may wish to consult an attorney regarding other forms of legal action.
Pursuant to federal law, the State of Kansas has implemented a central payment system for processing of court ordered child support and maintenance. Child support and maintenance payments should be made payable to “KANSAS PAYMENT CENTER” and mailed to the following address:
KANSAS PAYMENT CENTER
P.O. BOX 758599
Topeka, Kansas 66675-8599
Please put your case number on your remittance with the county two-letter digit (RC) for Rice county to ensure proper credit. If you have questions or would like information regarding payments through electronic funds transactions (EFT), please contact KPC customer service, 1-877-572-5722, or visit their website http://www.kspaycenter.com/. Please notify the court in writing of any address change or name change.
1. Before you can obtain a Protection from Abuse Order, you must be “an intimate partner or household member” of the alleged abuser; you and the other person you want restrained must be living together, have lived together in the past, or have had a child in common.
If you are seeking protection of a minor child(ren), the child(ren) and the person you want restrained must be living together, have lived together in the past or have had a child in common. Abuse must have occurred. This means that one of the following has occurred:
a. You are in a dating relationship (a social relationship of a romantic nature);
b. You have been in a dating relationship in the past;
c. You are living together;
d. You have lived together in the past; or
e. You have had a child in common
OR, if you are seeking protection of minor child(ren), the child(ren) and the person you want restrained must be intimate partners or household members. This means the child(ren) and the person you want restrained must meet one of the above requirements.
2. Abuse must have occurred. This means that one of the following has occurred:
a. The person physically hurt you or minor child(ren) on purpose. The person tried to physically hurt you or minor child(ren).
b. The person recently threatened to physically hurt you or minor child(ren).
c. The person engaged in sexual conduct (touching or sexual intercourse) with minor child(ren) 16 years of age.
You may file only two petitions for a Protection from Abuse Order in one calendar year, unless you are filing the petition on behalf of a minor child who has been abused. You must be available to testify at future hearings as set by the judge or in any other criminal action against the abuser. If you fail to appear the case may be dismissed. Other legal help may be available through your private attorney or legal services.
For further information about the Kansas Open Records Act and the Kansas Courts, visit our website at: www.kscourts.org
The records custodian(s) at this court location is District Court’s address: 101 W Commercial, Lyons, KS 67554
9-1-1 is only to be used in emergency situations. An emergency is any situation that requires immediate assistance from law enforcement, the fire department, or an ambulance. If you are ever in doubt whether a situation is an emergency, call 9-1-1. It’s better to be safe and let the 9-1-1 call taker determine if you need emergency assistance.
Do NOT call 9-1-1:
- For information
- For directory assistance
- When you’re bored and just want to talk
- For paying traffic tickets
- For your pet
- As a prank
If you call 9-1-1 by mistake, DO NOT HANG UP. Tell the call taker what happened so they know there really isn’t an emergency.
Verification of information is critical to ensure that the right resources are sent in the right manner to the correct location of an emergency. We understand that asking specific, often scripted questions may take longer, but very often emergency units have already been dispatched.
The Emergency Services Dispatcher may continue questioning the caller to obtain additional details about the victim, patient, or suspect. This additional information may change the response, provided a situation assessment, or provide scene safety update for the public safety responders. Depending on the call type, pre-arrival instructions may also be given to help the caller help themselves or other before emergency responders get to the scene.
One of our many roles is to keep abreast of the changing and challenging technology trends in the telecommunications industry. Rice County 9-1-1 Emergency Communications cannot officially support a specific technology (wireline, wireless, VOIP, etc.). Many people are only using cell phones today, and depending on your needs, you may or may not want to consider this option. One thing to keep in mind is the quality of the cell phone coverage in your home. Does your cell phone work in every room?
Also, do you have enough cell phones so that if you’re not home and there is a family emergency, there is a phone to call 9-1-1? Rice County 9-1-1 Emergency Communications is equipped to locate newer cell phones but older analog phone are difficult to track. Cell phone location accuracy is improving every year; however, the location may be within a 50-100 meter radius. Therefore, if you are in an apartment building or a multi-story building, 9-1-1 may not get the exact location.
Communications centers that answer 9-1-1 calls have special text telephones for responding to 9-1-1 calls from deaf or hearing/speech impaired callers.
If a caller uses a TTY/TDD, the caller should:
- Stay calm, place the phone receiver in the TTY, dial 9-1-1
- After the call is answered, press the TTY keys several times. This may help shorten the time necessary to respond to the call.
- Give the call taker time to connect their TTY. If necessary, press the TTY keys again. The 9-1-1 call taker should answer and type “GA” for Go Ahead.
- Tell what is needed – police, fire department, or ambulance. Give your name, phone number and the address where help is needed.
- Stay on the telephone if it is safe. Answer the call taker’s questions.
If a deaf or hearing/speech impaired caller does not have a TTY/TDD, they should call 9-1-1 and not hang up. This leaves the line open. With most 9-1-1 calls, the caller’s address with then be displayed on the call taker’s screen and help will be sent.
Title Fees $10.00
Transfer Fees $10.50
Autos less than 4500 lbs. $39.00
Autos over 4500 lbs. $49.00
12M Trucks $49.00
12001 and over $54.00
a). If the weight of the trailer and the load combined is less than 2,000 pounds, registration is optional. If a farm trailer hauling the farmer’s own product has a load of less than 6,000 pounds, registration is optional. For fees on trucks with gross weight of over 16,000 pounds, call the County Treasurer’s office, 620-257-2852.
b). Property tax is paid at the time of registration/title application and is determined in the County Treasurer’s office. The exceptions are heavy trucks, trailers, and mopeds, whose taxes are determined by the County Appraiser’s office.
c). Reflectorized plate fee is $0.50.
d). Sales tax will be collected in the tag office if the vehicle is bought from an individual or purchased out of state. The sales tax rate is collected plus a $0.50 collection fee. If the sales tax rate is higher where you live than where you purchased, you will pay the difference at the County Treasurer’s office.
e). The fee to transfer a tag is $20.50 plus the difference in the property tax.
If you have the title, you need to bring in the title, the vehicle inspection, and the proof of insurance. The person who is named on the title is the only person who can register the vehicle. If two names appear on the title with and/or between the names, both persons must come in. All vehicles coming from out of state must have a VIN inspection from the Lyons Police Department. The city of Lyons Police Department charges a $20.00 fee (CASH ONLY) for VIN inspections.
If you do not have the title because the lienholder of that state keeps it until the vehicle is paid for, you will need to contact the Rice County Treasurer’s office for instructions.
Exemption for two vehicles only!
1. IN THE FULL-TIME MILITARY SERVICE WHEN:
a). Stationed outside of Kansas and the motor vehicles are maintained outside of the state:
b). deployed (absent from such service members’ usual duty station due to military orders) regardless of where the service member is station and regardless of where the motor vehicles are maintained
2. MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL GUARD OR RESERVES WHEN:
a). mobilized (in receipt of orders to report for active duty at a certain date) regardless of where the motor vehicles are maintained:
b). deployed (absent from such service members’ usual duty station due to military orders) regardless of where the motor vehicles are maintained.
Note: The recreational vehicle (RV) exemption provided by K.S.79-5121(e) for resident military personnel remains unchanged. To qualify for the RV exemption, the resident must be absent from Kansas due to military orders and the RV must be maintained outside the state at the time of such individual’s application for registration.